Are Handicap Parking Placards Valid in All States?
A handicap parking placard is placed on the rearview mirror of a vehicle, and allows for parking in specially designated spaces. The placard must be visible to park in the space, forgetting to hang it from the rearview mirror is not an excuse. It is issued by the state that the person who requires the privilege lives in. Most states recognize out-of-state placards, although California requires you to obtain a temporary placard if you're just passing through.
Placards are issued by the state's motor vehicle department, on a doctor's recommendation. The placard does not need to be for the driver; someone with a qualifying condition can use it as a passenger. The placard has expiration information printed on it. A driver who has a handicap license plate may also receive one placard. If you're visiting California, you'll need to get a temporary placard for travelers, which you'll need to keep visible in the car when you park in a handicap spot.
Some of the qualifying conditions include heart problems, use of oxygen, inability to walk at least 200 feet without resting, or the use of a cane, crutches or prosthetic. A person who uses a wheelchair also qualifies for a placard.
Release Time: 2020-01-22 09:09:20
It is illegal to park in a handicap space without a handicap placard or license plate. It's also illegal for someone with the proper placard or plate to park in a designated space without the person to whom the privilege was issued. Fines for parking illegally in a handicap spot vary from state to state. The average is $250 for a first violation. Some counties impose even harsher punishment. Abuse of handicap parking laws in some counties can run fines of $500 or more, and even include community service.